Raqs Media Collective

Photographs © Paula Court

Raqs Media Collective The Last International

Connelly Theater, 220 E 4th St MAP
$25

Raqs Media Collective will create a celebratory performance that takes New York’s history as an international gathering place for people from all over the world as a starting point, and proposes a moment of coming together, in the same utopian spirit, which they have named The Last International. This new work follows the collective’s interest in the traces left behind by particular histories of 19th century utopian politics that lived and were debated in New York.

The Last International will be a performed installation with sculpture, archival documents, auctions, newly filmed footage, and music to articulate a possible new aesthetics for political solidarity, debates and projections. The Last International is a proposal for a new, joyful way of working and thinking with disagreements, solidarities and projections transformed into poetry, with orchards growing in factories and dancing ideas that connects distant laboring bodies.

The Last International is a Performa Commission.

Funding

Generously supported by Frith Street Gallery

Event Title
Date & Time
Description
Price
  • Sat. Nov 9, 6:00 pm
  • Sun. Nov 10, 6:00 pm
  • Mon. Nov 11, 6:00 pm
  • Tue. Nov 12, 6:00 pm
  • Wed. Nov 13, 6:00 pm
  • Thu. Nov 14, 6:00 pm
  • Fri. Nov 15, 6:00 pm
  • Sat. Nov 16, 6:00 pm
A series of intimate dinners cooked by the artist. Each night, he serves a decadent feast of hand selected dishes from across India, mixing traditions to create his own sort of Indian fusion.

  • Fri. Nov 8, 12:00 pm
  • Sat. Nov 9, 12:00 pm
Seminal Polish collective Akademia Ruchu (the Academy of Movement) creates a new, participatory performance specially conceived for Times Square.
FREE
  • Sat. Nov 2, 12:00 pm
Althamer builds connections between Williamsburg's many residents as all are invited to join in his conviviality and revelry at the Biba bar.
FREE